Best online training and certificates for first-time managers in 2026: 15 compared
Vendor facts checked · 15 optionsThe short answer
First-time manager training ranges from self-paced Coursera specializations (about $59 a month) to Harvard’s Management Essentials ($1,949), eCornell’s certificate ($3,750) and CCL’s programme ($4,400+). In India, IIM Bangalore runs a seven-month programme; Bodhih’s AI for Managers (₹7,999) builds eight graded work products on your own team in 16 hours.
The move from doing the work to leading the people who do it is the hardest promotion most professionals get, and most get no training for it. A good programme covers expectations, delegation, one-to-ones, feedback, difficult conversations and priorities — and now, how to use AI in the team without handing it people decisions.
Prices, hours and credentials below come from each provider’s own page, checked on 24 October 2026. Some programmes run on fixed dates, so check the next start before you plan.
How we built this list
- Included: programmes and certificates aimed at new or first-line managers that an individual can join, online or blended (plus two well-known live workshops).
- Checked for each: price, hours, format, start dates where fixed, and credential.
- Unpublished prices are marked as such, not estimated.
- Order: Bodhih’s course is ours, so it is listed first and labelled. The rest are alphabetical by provider. This is a shortlist with facts, not a ranking.
Disclosure: Bodhih publishes this guide and sells the product marked “Our product”. We receive nothing from the other providers listed, and links to them are not affiliate links.
Comparison at a glance
| # | Name | Format | Time | Price | Credential |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AI for Managers (Bodhih Applied AI: First-time Managers — Practitioner) (our product) | Online, self-paced | ~16 hours / 28 days | ₹7,999 + GST ($80) | Graded portfolio + proctored exam; Open Badge |
| 2 | Management Skills for New Supervisors | Live workshop | 2 days | $2,745 | CEU/PDU credits |
| 3 | Maximizing Your Leadership Potential | Live, in person or online | 20 hours + 5-month journey | $4,400-$4,888 | 2.7 CEUs |
| 4 | New Manager Skills Toolkit Specialization | Online, self-paced | ~39 hours | Coursera Plus $59/month | Coursera certificate |
| 5 | CMI Level 3 in First Line Management and Leadership (example: NEC) | Online with tutor | 58-130 hours | £587 + registration | Regulated CMI qualification |
| 6 | Leadership Training for Managers | Live group sessions | ~7 sessions | By local office | Not stated |
| 7 | Leadership Essentials Certificate | Online, instructor-paced | ~4 months | $3,750 | Cornell certificate; SHRM/HRCI/PMI credits |
| 8 | The 6 Critical Practices for Leading a Team | Live online | ~8 hours | $479 | Not stated |
| 9 | Management Essentials | Online cohort, self-paced | 20-25 hours | $1,949 | HBS Online certificate |
| 10 | Emerging Leaders Programme (Blended Online) | Blended online | 7 months | ₹2,98,000 + GST | IIMB certificate |
| 11 | Leadership Program for First Time Managers | Campus programme | 3 days | ₹54,000 + GST (2025) | Not stated |
| 12 | LinkedIn Learning new-manager courses | On-demand video | Varies | Subscription | Completion certificate |
| 13 | Mind Tools membership | Online library | Ongoing | $25/month | None |
| 14 | Skills for New Manager Success Specialization | Online, self-paced | ~24 hours | Coursera Plus $59/month | Coursera certificate |
| 15 | Executive Programme in Business Management | Live online + self-paced | 32 weeks | ₹3,25,000 + taxes | ISB certificate |
- Our product · Bodhih Training Solutions (Bengaluru, India)
1. AI for Managers (Bodhih Applied AI: First-time Managers — Practitioner)
Best for: First-time managers who want to build real management tools on their own team — delegation pack, 1:1 and coaching kit, review pack, team AI charter — using an AI assistant while keeping people decisions their own.
Watch out for: It is a 16-hour practitioner course, not a broad leadership programme, and it carries no university or HR-association credits.
Format Online, self-paced, eight modules Time About 16 hours over 28 days Price ₹7,999 plus GST ($80 outside India); ₹6,499 per company seat Assessment Graded eight-asset portfolio and a proctored scenario exam; re-measured at 90 days Credential Verifiable credential, also issued as an Open Badge 2.0 Add-ons First 90 Days as a Manager kit (₹1,299 / $34) and the First 90 Days simulation (₹499 + GST / $12) See AI for Managers (Bodhih Applied AI: First-time Managers — Practitioner) on Bodhih · Sources: bodhih.org, bodhih.org, bodhih.org
- American Management Association (AMA)
2. Management Skills for New Supervisors
Best for: Supervisors with under five years’ experience who want an intensive live workshop.
Watch out for: A high price for two days, and the content is US-centred.
Format In person, live online or in-house Time 2 days Price $2,745 (non-members); $2,495 (AMA members) Credits 1.2 CEU, 12 PDU and other credits American Management Association (AMA) website · Source: amanet.org
- Center for Creative Leadership (CCL)
3. Maximizing Your Leadership Potential
Best for: Frontline managers whose employer will fund an assessment-rich, research-based programme.
Watch out for: The most expensive option here, and tuition rises on 1 January 2027.
Format In person (3 days) or live online (5 × 4 hours) within a 5-month journey Time 20-hour intensive plus pre-work Price $4,400 (December 2026 sessions); $4,888 (2027) Credential 2.7 CEUs Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) website · Source: ccl.org
- Chris Croft Training (on Coursera)
4. New Manager Skills Toolkit Specialization
Best for: Practical, trainer-led basics — delegation, time management, team leadership — for beginners.
Watch out for: From a private training company rather than a university.
Format Self-paced online, four courses Time About 39 hours Price Included in Coursera Plus ($59 a month or $399 a year) Credential Coursera certificate Chris Croft Training (on Coursera) website · Sources: coursera.org, coursera.org
- Chartered Management Institute, via approved centres
5. CMI Level 3 in First Line Management and Leadership (example: NEC)
Best for: First-line managers, especially in the UK, who want a regulated, assessed qualification.
Watch out for: Assessed by written assignments, and price and format vary by centre.
Format Online self-paced with a personal tutor (NEC delivery) Time 58 to 130 study hours; 12 months’ tutor support Price £587 course fee plus CMI registration (NEC) Credential Ofqual-regulated CMI Level 3 qualification Chartered Management Institute, via approved centres website · Source: nec.ac.uk
- Dale Carnegie
6. Leadership Training for Managers
Best for: Managers who learn best in live, practice-heavy group sessions on people skills.
Watch out for: Prices and schedules are set by local offices and rarely published.
Format Live, in person or online through local offices Time Example schedule: 7 weekly sessions Price By local office Dale Carnegie website · Source: dalecarnegie.com
- eCornell (Cornell ILR School)
7. Leadership Essentials Certificate
Best for: New or aspiring managers who want a university certificate with HR and PMI recertification credits.
Watch out for: About four months of weekly deadlines is a real time commitment.
Format Online, seven courses Time About 4 months at 3 to 8 hours a week Price $3,750 Credential Cornell ILR certificate; 50 SHRM PDCs, 50 HRCI credits, 41 PMI PDUs eCornell (Cornell ILR School) website · Source: ecornell.cornell.edu
- FranklinCovey
8. The 6 Critical Practices for Leading a Team
Best for: First-level leaders who want a short, affordable, structured framework.
Watch out for: Short, with no formal credential stated, and sessions run on US Eastern Time.
Format Live online Time Two half-days, about 8 hours Price $479 per person FranklinCovey website · Source: franklincovey.com
- Harvard Business School Online
9. Management Essentials
Best for: New managers who want a short, prestigious, case-based online course.
Watch out for: Expensive for the hours, and it starts on fixed cohort dates.
Format Online, self-paced within cohort windows, four modules Time 20 to 25 hours Price $1,949 Credential HBS Online Certificate of Completion Harvard Business School Online website · Source: online.hbs.edu
- IIM Bangalore
10. Emerging Leaders Programme (Blended Online)
Best for: First-time or soon-to-be managers in India, including engineers moving into techno-commercial roles.
Watch out for: The next batch dates were still to be announced when checked, and a bachelor’s degree is required.
Format Live online sessions plus IIMB digital courses Time 7 months Price ₹2,98,000 + GST (India); $4,100 (international) Credential IIMB certificate of completion IIM Bangalore website · Source: iimb.ac.in
- IIM Indore
11. Leadership Program for First Time Managers
Best for: Indian managers who want a short, affordable IIM campus programme for first-time managers.
Watch out for: The 2026 run has passed and no 2027 date was listed when checked; the fee shown is from the 2025 brochure.
Format Open programme at IIM Indore Time 3 days Price ₹54,000 + GST (2025 brochure, including stay) IIM Indore website · Source: iimidr.ac.in
- LinkedIn
12. LinkedIn Learning new-manager courses
Best for: Managers who want short refreshers on many topics under one subscription.
Watch out for: Certificates are for completion only, and prices vary by country (check LinkedIn for yours).
Format On-demand video library and learning paths Price Subscription; included with LinkedIn Premium Credential Certificates of completion LinkedIn website · Source: linkedin.com
- Mind Tools
13. Mind Tools membership
Best for: New managers who want an on-demand reference library of practical management tools.
Watch out for: A resource library rather than a structured programme with a credential.
Format Online toolkit library (articles, tools, videos) Price $25 a month or $200 a year Mind Tools website · Source: mindtools.com
- Minnesota State University, Mankato (on Coursera)
14. Skills for New Manager Success Specialization
Best for: Budget-conscious new managers who want a university-branded, self-paced foundation.
Watch out for: No academic credit, and the free-enrolment wording on the page does not include the certificate.
Format Self-paced online, four courses Time About 24 hours Price Included in Coursera Plus ($59 a month or $399 a year); financial aid available Credential Shareable certificate Minnesota State University, Mankato (on Coursera) website · Source: coursera.org
- Indian School of Business (ISB)
15. Executive Programme in Business Management
Best for: Early managers in India who want broad, cross-functional business grounding from ISB.
Watch out for: Needs at least five years’ post-degree experience, so it suits experienced professionals more than true first-timers.
Format Live online plus self-paced Time 32 weeks (from 20 December 2026) Price ₹3,25,000 + taxes Credential ISB programme certificate Indian School of Business (ISB) website · Source: execed.isb.edu
How to choose
What a first-time manager programme should cover
Look for six topics: setting expectations, delegating, one-to-ones, feedback, difficult conversations and managing priorities. In 2026, add a seventh: using AI tools in the team responsibly, and knowing which decisions about people must stay human.
Pick by budget, time and proof
Use the table to narrow the list, then read each entry’s “watch out for” line.
| If you need… | Look at |
|---|---|
| Lowest cost | Coursera specializations; Mind Tools; Bodhih AI for Managers |
| A famous name on the certificate | Harvard Business School Online; eCornell; CCL |
| An Indian institute | IIM Bangalore; IIM Indore; ISB |
| A regulated qualification | CMI Level 3 |
| Work you build on your own team, graded | Bodhih AI for Managers |
| A short live workshop | FranklinCovey; AMA; Dale Carnegie |
Make it stick after the course
Behaviour change shows up weeks later, not on the last day. Involve the new manager’s own manager, set two or three behaviours to practise, and check them again at about 90 days.
Questions people ask next
What is the best training for a first-time manager?
It depends on budget and the proof you need. Self-paced options start at about $59 a month on Coursera; Harvard Business School Online’s Management Essentials costs $1,949; eCornell’s Leadership Essentials certificate costs $3,750; Bodhih’s AI for Managers costs ₹7,999 + GST and is assessed on work you build for your own team.
Is there a first-time manager programme in India?
Yes. IIM Bangalore’s Emerging Leaders Programme (7 months, ₹2,98,000 + GST), IIM Indore’s 3-day Leadership Program for First Time Managers, ISB’s Executive Programme in Business Management (for experienced professionals) and Bodhih’s online AI for Managers (₹7,999 + GST).
How long should first-time manager training be?
Short courses run 8 to 40 hours; university certificates take 3 to 4 months; executive programmes take 7 months or more. Spreading practice over several weeks and re-checking behaviour at around 90 days matters more than total hours.
Do new managers need AI training?
Increasingly, yes: managers use AI for planning, updates, feedback drafts and team data, and need to know what it must not decide. Bodhih’s AI for Managers is built for this; most traditional programmes cover it briefly or not at all.
Why is Bodhih listed first?
Because it is our course and we say so. The rest are listed alphabetically, facts come from their own pages, and every entry has a “watch out for” line.