Best responsible AI, AI governance and data privacy courses for managers in 2026: 14 compared
Vendor facts checked · 14 optionsThe short answer
For managers, the deciding questions are who a course is written for, whether it covers AI governance and data privacy together, and whether you practise. Professional certifications (IAPP AIGP, PECB ISO/IEC 42001) suit governance specialists; university programmes (LSE, Cambridge) cost the most; short literacy courses suit all staff; Bodhih’s course is a manager course with simulations and a reviewed capstone.
Courses on responsible AI now range from a 45-minute literacy module to a six-week university programme. Most sit in one of two silos: AI governance courses that treat privacy as one topic, and privacy or data protection officer courses that barely mention AI. A manager meets both in the same decision: can my team use this AI tool on this data? Many catalogue courses were also recorded before the EU’s AI Omnibus (in force 27 July 2026) moved the high-risk dates, and before India’s DPDP Rules were notified on 13 November 2025.
Every price, duration and credential below was read on the provider’s page on 6 November 2026, unless the entry says otherwise. Prices and start dates change, so confirm before you enrol. This guide is general information, not legal advice.
How we built this list
- Included: online or classroom courses on responsible AI, AI governance, EU AI Act literacy or data privacy that a manager or a company can buy today.
- Checked for each: who it is written for, what it covers, how learners practise, hours and format, price and credential, as stated by the provider.
- Where a price came only from a third-party page, or the provider did not publish one, we describe the pricing without a figure.
- Order: Bodhih publishes this guide and its course is ours, so it is listed first and labelled. The rest are alphabetical by provider. This is a shortlist with facts, not a ranking.
Disclosure: Bodhih publishes this guide and sells the product marked “Our product”. We receive nothing from the other providers listed, and links to them are not affiliate links.
Comparison at a glance
| # | Name | Written for | Practice | Time | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Responsible AI and Data Privacy for Managers (our product) | Managers | 3 sims, Inspector, labs, capstone | ~10.5 h | ₹4,999 + GST ($119) |
| 2 | AI Governance & ISO 42001 Readiness for GRC, Audit & Legal | GRC, audit, legal | Video + scenario project | ~19.5 h | Coursera subscription |
| 3 | Coursera for Teams (library route) | Varies | Varies by course | Varies | US$399/licence/yr |
| 4 | DSCI Certified Data Protection Officer (DCDPO) | DPOs (India) | Classroom + skill test | 24 h over 3 days | ₹48,000-55,000 + GST |
| 5 | EU AI Act Fundamentals track and EU AI Act Literacy Certification | All staff | Track + certification | Not stated | Subscription; on request |
| 6 | AI Governance for Everyone | Technical learners | Python bias tools | 6-7 h | Coursera subscription |
| 7 | AI Literacy Training Compact | All staff | Modules + quiz | 45 min | EUR 19.90-49.90/seat |
| 8 | AIGP: Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (training) | Governance professionals | Exam preparation | Not stated | Not listed on page |
| 9 | Certificate Course on DPDP Act | Legal learners (India) | Video + MCQ exam | 2 months | ₹5,600 |
| 10 | AI Law, Policy and Governance online certificate | Leaders, policy, legal | Cohort coursework | 6 weeks | £2,420 |
| 11 | Enterprise AI Governance, Ethics & Security Professional Certificate | Security and data governance | Scenario projects | ~39 h | Coursera subscription |
| 12 | Elements of AI and Get AI Ready (teams) | Everyone | Exercises | ~60 min | Free |
| 13 | ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Implementer | Implementers | Self-study + exam | Not stated | Via partners; on request |
| 14 | Responsible AI for Leaders | Senior leaders | Tutor-guided case work | 6 weeks | US$3,150 |
- Our product · Bodhih Training Solutions (Bengaluru, India)
1. Responsible AI and Data Privacy for Managers
Best for: Managers whose teams use or buy AI and who need AI governance and data privacy together, current to November 2026, with practice and a real work output.
Watch out for: It launched in November 2026, so it has no alumni record yet; it is not a professional certification, has no live tutor and is taught at principle level, not as legal advice.
Written for People managers, team leads, product owners Covers EU AI Act after the AI Omnibus, GDPR, India’s DPDP Act and Rules, UK and US rules at principle level Practice Three Scenario Sims, Privacy and Bias Inspector, bias-audit calculator, triage and rulebook labs Time About 10.5 hours, self-paced Price ₹4,999 plus GST (US$119 outside India); company seat ₹3,999 (US$99) Credential Bodhih credential as an Open Badge 2.0 after a reviewed capstone and a final assessment See Responsible AI and Data Privacy for Managers on Bodhih · Source: bodhih.org
- BSI (on Coursera)
2. AI Governance & ISO 42001 Readiness for GRC, Audit & Legal
Best for: GRC, audit and legal staff who want a standards-led series on ISO/IEC 42001, impact assessment and EU AI Act foundations.
Watch out for: It is standards-heavy video for specialists, and it was rated 3.4 from 27 reviews when checked.
Written for GRC, audit and legal professionals Format Five self-paced courses with a scenario project Time About 19.5 hours Price Coursera Plus or paid enrolment; price not shown on the page BSI (on Coursera) website · Source: coursera.org
- Coursera
3. Coursera for Teams (library route)
Best for: Companies that want a broad library with many AI and governance courses to assign.
Watch out for: It is a library, not one manager programme: you still choose, sequence and assign the content.
Format Course library Price US$399 per licence per year Coursera website · Source: coursera.org
- Data Security Council of India (DSCI)
4. DSCI Certified Data Protection Officer (DCDPO)
Best for: Aspiring data protection officers in India who want classroom training on DPIAs, privacy by design, DPDP rights, breaches and vendor risk.
Watch out for: It is classroom-only on fixed dates, priced for specialists, and covers little AI governance.
Written for Data protection officers Format In-person classroom (Mumbai 2-4 Dec, Delhi NCR 7-9 Dec 2026), skill test Time 24 hours over 3 days Price ₹48,000 (members) or ₹55,000, plus 18% GST Data Security Council of India (DSCI) website · Source: dsci.in
- DataCamp for Business
5. EU AI Act Fundamentals track and EU AI Act Literacy Certification
Best for: Companies that want company-wide EU AI Act literacy with admin dashboards, SSO and LMS integration.
Watch out for: It covers the EU AI Act only, not privacy or manager-level governance, and the team price is not on the vendor page.
Written for All staff Format Self-paced track plus literacy certification Admin Dashboards, SSO, LMS integration Price Per-user team subscription; price on request DataCamp for Business website · Source: datacamp.com
- Edureka (on Coursera)
6. AI Governance for Everyone
Best for: Technically curious learners who want to try bias analysis tools such as Fairlearn, SHAP and LIME.
Watch out for: The bias work uses Python and Pandas, so it is not a no-code course for managers.
Written for General, with some coding Practice Ten knowledge checks; bias analysis in Python Time 6 to 7 hours Price Coursera Plus; certificate paid Edureka (on Coursera) website · Source: coursera.org
- Fast Lane (with appliedAI)
7. AI Literacy Training Compact
Best for: Companies that want a short, low-cost all-staff course as one of their Article 4 literacy measures, with published volume prices.
Watch out for: At 45 minutes with a quiz, it is for all staff, not for managers’ governance work.
Written for All staff Format Interactive modules and a quiz, with a certificate Time 45 minutes Price EUR 49.90 down to EUR 19.90 per learner by volume Fast Lane (with appliedAI) website · Source: flane.de
- IAPP
8. AIGP: Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (training)
Best for: AI governance professionals who want a recognised professional certification across six areas, from AI foundations to governing deployment.
Watch out for: It is exam-focused with a professional study load, the training page lists no price (the exam and training are sold separately), and the certification has a maintenance fee.
Written for AI governance professionals Covers AI foundations; impacts and principles; governance and risk; laws and standards; governing development; governing deployment Format Self-paced online, live online or in person Price Training and exam sold separately; not listed on the training page IAPP website · Source: iapp.org
- ILMS Academy
9. Certificate Course on DPDP Act
Best for: Learners in India who want legal-practice knowledge of the DPDP Act 2023 and the DPDP Rules 2025 at low cost.
Watch out for: It is a legal course with no AI governance content.
Written for Legal and compliance learners Format 30 video modules, a form kit and an MCQ exam Time 2 months, self-paced Price ₹5,600 ILMS Academy website · Source: ilms.academy
- London School of Economics (via GetSmarter)
10. AI Law, Policy and Governance online certificate
Best for: Leaders and policy or legal staff who want university depth on EU AI Act high-risk design, UK principles and generative AI risks.
Watch out for: It is a cohort course with fixed start dates (next 18 November 2026) and costs far more than self-paced options.
Written for Leaders, policy and legal staff Format Online cohort; LSE certificate of competence Time 6 weeks plus orientation, 6 to 8 hours a week Price £2,420 London School of Economics (via GetSmarter) website · Source: lse.ac.uk
- Microsoft (on Coursera)
11. Enterprise AI Governance, Ethics & Security Professional Certificate
Best for: People with 3 to 7 years in security, risk or data governance who want a long series with scenario projects.
Watch out for: It is written for security and data governance staff rather than line managers, and runs to about 39 hours.
Written for Security, risk and data governance staff Format Five self-paced courses with scenario projects Time About 39 hours Price Coursera Plus; price not shown on the page Microsoft (on Coursera) website · Source: coursera.org
- MinnaLearn and University of Helsinki
12. Elements of AI and Get AI Ready (teams)
Best for: A free first step in AI literacy, mapped to the EU AI Act.
Watch out for: It has no privacy or governance practice, and team pricing is not listed.
Written for Everyone Time About 60 minutes (Get AI Ready) Price Free; team pricing not listed MinnaLearn and University of Helsinki website · Source: elementsofai.com
- PECB (via training partners)
13. ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Implementer
Best for: People building an AI management system to ISO/IEC 42001 who want an implementer-level certification.
Watch out for: It is standard-specific and implementer-level, not a manager course, and pricing is set by training partners.
Written for AI management system implementers Format Self-study or eLearning, 400+ pages of material, 2 exam attempts CPD 31 CPD credits Price Set by training partners; price on request PECB (via training partners) website · Source: riskprofs.com
- University of Cambridge (Advance Online)
14. Responsible AI for Leaders
Best for: Senior leaders who want a tutor-guided university course with frameworks, case studies and tools.
Watch out for: It is the most expensive option here and runs on fixed dates (next February and April 2027).
Written for Senior leaders Format Tutor-guided online; Certificate of Achievement Time 6 weeks, 4 to 6 hours a week Price US$3,150 University of Cambridge (Advance Online) website · Source: advanceonline.cam.ac.uk
How to choose
Which responsible AI course fits you?
Start with the job you will do, then compare within the matching row.
| If you need… | Look at |
|---|---|
| To lead a team’s AI use, with AI governance and privacy together | Bodhih |
| A professional AI governance certification | IAPP AIGP; PECB ISO/IEC 42001 |
| Standards and audit depth for GRC staff | BSI on Coursera; Microsoft on Coursera |
| A university programme for senior leaders | LSE; University of Cambridge |
| Short EU AI Act literacy for all staff | Fast Lane; DataCamp; Elements of AI |
| Data protection officer or DPDP legal skills in India | DSCI DCDPO; ILMS Academy |
Check whether it is current and whether you practise
Ask when the course was last updated. The AI Omnibus (Regulation (EU) 2026/1744, in force 27 July 2026) moved the EU AI Act’s high-risk rules to 2 December 2027 for Annex III systems such as hiring tools, and India’s DPDP Rules phase in to 13 May 2027 for most duties. A course recorded earlier may teach the wrong dates.
Then ask how you practise. Quizzes test recall; a manager needs to handle a fairness complaint, question a vendor’s claims and run the first hour of a data leak. Look for simulations, real outputs such as an AI register entry or impact assessment, and someone who reviews them.
Know what a course can and cannot prove
Under the EU AI Act, Article 4 asks providers and deployers to take measures to support their staff’s AI literacy. The European Commission says no certificate is needed, and no course can certify that a company complies. Training with a dated record for each learner is one common measure. This is general information, not legal advice.
Questions people ask next
What is the best responsible AI course for managers?
It depends on the job. For a manager who leads a team’s AI use, look for a course that covers AI governance and data privacy together, is current to the 2026 rules and includes practice. Governance specialists may prefer a professional certification such as the IAPP AIGP; senior leaders may prefer a university programme such as LSE or Cambridge.
Is the IAPP AIGP worth it for a line manager?
The AIGP is a professional certification with an exam, built for people whose job is AI governance. A line manager who runs a team that uses AI usually needs a shorter, practical course; a manager moving into a governance role may need the AIGP.
Do EU AI Act courses make a company compliant?
No. Under Article 4 of the EU AI Act, organisations must take measures to support their staff’s AI literacy; it does not require a certificate, and no course can certify compliance. Records of training are one form of evidence. This is general information, not legal advice.
Which courses cover India’s DPDP Act?
In this list, DSCI’s DCDPO and ILMS Academy’s certificate focus on the DPDP Act and Rules, and Bodhih’s course covers them at principle level alongside AI governance, the EU AI Act and the GDPR.