Best AI literacy training for employees in 2026: 12 courses compared
Vendor facts checked · 12 optionsThe short answer
AI literacy training for employees falls into three groups: free courses from AI vendors (Google, Microsoft, Anthropic, OpenAI), short compliance courses sold on the EU AI Act (Fast Lane, Kubicle, DataCamp), and platforms with measurement (Section). Choose by whether people practise on their own kind of work, whether it is tied to one tool, and whether each learner’s change is measured.
Since 2 February 2025, the EU AI Act has asked organisations that use AI to take measures to support their staff’s AI literacy, and national authorities can enforce it from 2 August 2026. The European Commission says no certificate is required; internal records are enough. That has produced a wave of short courses. The useful questions are whether people practise, whether the course works with the tools your company approves, and whether you can show what changed.
Every fact below was read on the provider’s own page on 4 November 2026, unless the entry says otherwise. This is general information, not legal advice.
How we built this list
- Included: AI literacy or AI-at-work courses for general employees, on sale or free today, that a company can roll out.
- Checked for each: length, practice, measurement, credential and price, as published by the provider.
- Where a provider did not publish a price, we say so.
- Order: Bodhih’s course is ours, so it is listed first and labelled. The rest are alphabetical by provider. This is a shortlist with facts, not a ranking.
Disclosure: Bodhih publishes this guide and sells the product marked “Our product”. We receive nothing from the other providers listed, and links to them are not affiliate links.
Comparison at a glance
| # | Name | Length | Practice | Tied to a tool | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AI at Work Essentials (our product) | ~4 h | Labs, by role | No | ₹2,499 + GST ($59) |
| 2 | AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations | Not stated | Framework exercises | No | Free |
| 3 | Coursera for Teams (library incl. Google AI Essentials) | Varies | Labs across catalogue | Varies | $399/licence/yr |
| 4 | EU AI Act Fundamentals track and Literacy Certification | Not stated | Track + certification | No | Not published |
| 5 | Generative AI for Everyone | ~6 h | Assignments | No | Audit free |
| 6 | Elements of AI | Varies | Exercises | No | Free |
| 7 | AI Literacy Training Compact | 45 min | Quiz | No | EUR 19.90-49.90/seat |
| 8 | Google AI Essentials | <5 h | Scenario activities | Gemini | $49/mo |
| 9 | EU AI Act Training: Article 4 AI Literacy | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not published |
| 10 | AI Fluency: Get started with Microsoft Copilot | 31 min | Knowledge check | Copilot | Not stated |
| 11 | AI Foundations (OpenAI Certifications) | Not stated | In ChatGPT | ChatGPT | Not stated |
| 12 | Section Coach and Section HQ | Ongoing | Coaching | No | Not public |
- Our product · Bodhih Training Solutions (Bengaluru, India)
1. AI at Work Essentials
Best for: Companies that want one hands-on course for every function, with each learner measured before and after.
Watch out for: It launched in November 2026, so it has no alumni record yet, and it is in English only.
Length About 4 hours, six modules Practice Output Inspector and Agent Flight Deck labs; Role Lens for seven functions Measurement Check before and after; dated record per learner Price ₹2,499 plus GST ($59); ₹1,999 per company seat - Anthropic Academy
2. AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations
Best for: Learners who want a free framework for working with AI (delegation, description, discernment, diligence).
Watch out for: The page does not state a duration, and it is self-study without company reporting.
Length Not stated Credential Certificate after a final assessment Price Free - Coursera
3. Coursera for Teams (library incl. Google AI Essentials)
Best for: Teams that want a large library with skill dashboards.
Watch out for: It is a library, not one course: you still have to choose and assign the content.
Format Library of courses, labs and proficiency tests Price $399 per licence per year, 2 to 499 licences Coursera website · Source: coursera.org
- DataCamp for Business
4. EU AI Act Fundamentals track and Literacy Certification
Best for: Companies that want an EU AI Act track with admin dashboards and LMS integration.
Watch out for: The per-seat price is not on the vendor page.
Format Self-paced track plus certification Admin Dashboards, SSO, LMS and HRIS integration Price Not on the vendor page DataCamp for Business website · Source: datacamp.com
- DeepLearning.AI (on Coursera)
5. Generative AI for Everyone
Best for: A widely taken, plain-language introduction (about 845,000 enrolled).
Watch out for: It is video-led, and the certificate needs payment.
Length About 6 hours Price Free to audit; certificate with Coursera Plus DeepLearning.AI (on Coursera) website · Source: coursera.org
- MinnaLearn and University of Helsinki
6. Elements of AI
Best for: A free, multilingual introduction used by over two million people, with an EU AI Act mapping.
Watch out for: Team pricing for the company version is not listed.
Languages Many EU languages Price Free; team pricing not listed MinnaLearn and University of Helsinki website · Source: elementsofai.com
- Fast Lane
7. AI Literacy Training Compact
Best for: Companies that want a short, low-cost compliance course with published volume prices.
Watch out for: At 45 minutes with a quiz, practice is limited.
Length 45 minutes Practice Interactive modules and a quiz Price EUR 49.90 per learner (10-50) down to EUR 19.90 (501-1,000) Fast Lane website · Source: flane.de
- Google (on Coursera)
8. Google AI Essentials
Best for: Learners who want a well-known certificate and a Credly badge.
Watch out for: It centres on Google’s tools and cannot be audited free.
Length Under 5 hours Credential Google certificate and Credly badge Price $49 a month after a 7-day trial (US and Canada) Google (on Coursera) website · Source: grow.google
- Kubicle
9. EU AI Act Training: Article 4 AI Literacy
Best for: Companies that want a managed programme by workforce level.
Watch out for: The price is not on the page.
Format Managed, persona-based, four workforce levels Price Not on the page Kubicle website · Source: kubicle.com
- Microsoft Learn
10. AI Fluency: Get started with Microsoft Copilot
Best for: Copilot users who want a 31-minute start.
Watch out for: It is tied to Copilot and has no hands-on practice stated.
Length 31 minutes Price Not stated on the page Microsoft Learn website · Source: learn.microsoft.com
- OpenAI
11. AI Foundations (OpenAI Certifications)
Best for: ChatGPT users who want to learn and practise inside ChatGPT.
Watch out for: It is tied to ChatGPT, and the page does not state a price or duration.
Practice Inside ChatGPT Price Not stated OpenAI website · Source: openai.com
- Section
12. Section Coach and Section HQ
Best for: Large companies that want ongoing AI coaching with a proficiency dashboard.
Watch out for: Prices are not public (demo only).
Format AI coaching adapted to role, plus a measurement dashboard Price Not public Section website · Source: sectionai.com
How to choose
What should AI literacy training for employees include?
The European Commission’s guidance points to a general understanding of AI, the systems your organisation uses, their risks and how to reduce them, tailored to staff knowledge and context. In practice, look for four things.
- Practice on each person’s own kind of work, not only videos.
- Habits that do not depend on one vendor’s tool.
- Checking AI output and protecting data, not only prompting.
- A measure before and after, and a dated record for each learner.
Questions people ask next
Is AI literacy training mandatory?
Under the EU AI Act, providers and deployers of AI systems must take measures to support their staff’s AI literacy (Article 4, as amended by Regulation (EU) 2026/1744). It has applied since 2 February 2025, and national authorities can enforce it from 2 August 2026. Outside the EU, rules vary. This is general information, not legal advice.
Do employees need an AI literacy certificate?
Not under the EU AI Act. The European Commission says internal records of training and other measures are enough, and no certificate is required.
How long should AI literacy training take?
Courses range from 31 minutes to about 6 hours. Very short courses can inform; building habits such as checking AI output usually needs practice, which takes a few hours.